Does anybody recognizes opera tunes here?

Moderator: kcleung

coulonnus
active poster
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Does anybody recognizes opera tunes here?

Post by coulonnus »

I have retypeset an autograph I have uncovered: http://icking-music-archive.org/ByCompo ... ibaldi.php. The composer is a homonym of Giuseppe Garibaldi
(read the biography). There are about 18 short pieces.

Some pieces look like arrangements of Rossini, Puccini or other Italian composers, but I can't recognize them. Does anybody recognize any opera tunes?
coulonnus
active poster

Re: Does anybody recognizes opera tunes here?

Post by coulonnus »

You can hear recording samples here:
http://store.harmoniamundi.com/la-route ... me-11.html
(recordings 13 thru 24)
pocoallegro
forum adept
notabot: YES
notabot2: Bot

Post by pocoallegro »

While I'm not a complete expert on that era of Italian opera, I know that many Italian composers of the 19th century who wrote instumental music tended to model their melodies and (simple) harmonies on the bel canto era composers, such as Rossini. The notes beforehand make it sound as if this collection was made around 1862, so Puccini would have only been four at the time. It is possible that there are allusions to Donizetti, Rossini, or Mercandante, but they are likely just original compositions in the style of these composers.
coulonnus
active poster

Post by coulonnus »

This is certainly true. There were also manuscript arrangements of Italian opera tunes in the collection I uncovered, but the original composers were clearly specified on these scores.
steltz
active poster

Post by steltz »

There are many of this type of music that remain unidentified. One such piece is Rossini's Introduction Theme and Variations for clarinet. It's based on La Donna del Iago, but no one really knows whether Rossini himself did it. It is entirely possible that someone else did the variations on Rossini's themes.
bsteltz
coulonnus
active poster

Post by coulonnus »