organ lessons

Moderator: kcleung

Vivaletour
notabot: YES
notabot2: Bot

organ lessons

Post by Vivaletour »

hi everyone

i have been playing piano for about 8-9 years. im at the grade 9 level in Royal Conservatory now. I started organ lessons last week and am really enjoying it. i was wondering what you guys know of organ technique, and what and organ student can typically accomplish in a year. I graduate from High School in june, and would love to play Bach's Toccata and Fugue in D minor by june for graduation. From your guys' experience, do you think this is resonable? if not, what is a fairly well known Bach Toccato/Fugue that would be a reasonable goal.

thanks

ST
Lyle Neff
active poster
notabot: 42
notabot2: Human

Post by Lyle Neff »

I had 2-3 of years of organ lessons in college after having played piano since the age of ten. My professor put me on the Gleason method book -- the pedal exercises especially. Among the hand-and-pedal pieces I learned early were some of the 6 Little Preludes and Fugues.

If I recall correctly, I managed to play Bach's B-minor Prelude and Fugue on student recital back then (each movement on a different recital). That's a fairly difficult work. On another student recital I played Franck's "Piece heroique." Those undergrad recitals must have taken place well after my first year of organ lessons.
Arturo

Post by Arturo »

Why everyone want to play John's Toccata & fugue in d?
This is the biggest mystery for me :)

I supose you are quite good at piano, so the manual part will be easy at all (but be prepared to passages with demisemiquavers!).